An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the preceding argument, the author is say that an organization has created a new type of vitamin A which has higher vitamin A contain than the previous one and found in glut in tagus. So that government should adopt new method to promote this new type of millet. The author statement is well articulate, but there are several assumptions while making this statement. So, let me show you how this assumptions are based on faulty reasoning which can make the proposition fall apart.

First of all, the organization who breed this new type of millet is saying that it has higher vitamin A. But, they didn't mention any kind of amount by how much energy contain they possess than the previous one. If the new breed contain, say 5% more than the previous one, then it will be not be viable alternative because of high cost. Futhermore, they did not mention the quality of the new vitamin A whether it is better than the previous one or not. If it's quality is not better than it would not be wise decision to adopt this new millet. Had the author give more information about the amount and quality of this new millet it would be more clear for anyone to take decisions quickly regarding this.

Second of all, it is also mention that the seeds for this new type of millet cost more which indicates that the average cost for the new vitamin A will be higher than available vitamin A in the market. So, say if the new vitamin A costs 1 dollar more than others, why would anyone wants to buy this new one? Most of the people prefer products with low costs. In that case, rather than buying the new one they will focus more one the available low cost vitamin A. If the author give information cost of the new vitamin A, then the proposition will have a better chance to hold true.

Finally, we come to know that millet is already a staple food and the author assuming that as people eating millet more then this new type will be accepted by the people easily. But, it is ideal to think in this way? Like, one go to school by bus everyday, if a new bus come then he will go to school by this bus. It is possible that his taste changes suddenly. So based upon this vague assumption, it will be not wise to take such decision.

In conclusion, as the author give the proposition based on several unwarranted assumptions so it will be better to find those answer first and then think about adopting this propostion.