"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should, therefore, allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, advertising directior is claimimg that there are fewer number of customers to watch movies. According to the positives reviews for the movies, he is saying that the movie qualities is good but their positive reviews is no reaching to the people that is the reason why less people are coming to watch their movies. So he is planning to increas budget to advertise more in order to incrase the number of customers. But, his recommendation is based on some fallacious assumptions, if they are not investigate properly then the decision may be lead to failure. Let me show you how these assumptions can make the argument fall apart.

First assumption is that their movies are good in qualities based on some positive reviews. But the argument does not provide how many positive reviews they received. Maybe all the reviews they receive are from some people who likes their movies. Taste for movies varies from person to person. So, does this reviews include people form all ages? Say, people, aged between 20 to 40 years old, like action movies and their movies are action based. So they receive the reviews from this people but what about other people. Had the argument provide sufficient information about the number of positives reviews and age range of the reviewer then it would easier to decide about the quality of the movie.

Second assumption is that he is taking account the report of the last year, and what was happening last year doesnot mean that same this will happen this year. Maybe that area was facing some major environment problems which is why fewer peoples were interested in watching movies. But this year, maybe, there is no environmental problems is occuring in that area which in turn can increase their audiences. If the argument provides more informations about the actual reason of less number of people then it would be more convincong to decide about allocating a greater share of its budget for the next year.

Finally, the agrument is also saying the fewer number of people are attending to watch their movies. But he is not giving any specific amount. For example, 2 years ago 1000 people are attending to watch their movies. But last year this number can be 500 or 950. So it is not clear how many people were less than the previous year.

In sum, as the above argument is based on certain unwarranted assumption, so it will not be good idea to decide to allocate more money without further investigation.