"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

The argument presenting the fact about effect of birth order on the level of cortisol hormone production and proposing it as only explanation. However, the argument writer is missing others possible explanations those can outstrip his own.

First of all, this study involved only eighteen rhesus monkeys which is hardly regarded as representing sample. The argument doesn’t mention any method in which the experiment has been carried out. Additionally, there is no description that how did they identified those monkey as first born. Pedigree and parent history are also required to be confirmed about the result. It may happen that the study worked in random and had exaggerated about the findings.

Let’s assume that they carried out the study in statistical sound way even then they had to examine any other alternative stimulation apart from an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey which actually resulted in increased amount of cortisol production in first born. Perhaps if they took account others alternative stimulator might find different result. Others kind of stimulators may elicit equal amount cortisol production in every sibling. If this might true, then the fact presented in the argument would fall apart.

The study mentioned only first time mother monkey and didn’t say about anything about second and later time. Weather they produce higher or lower amount of cortisol at later is not clear. During pregnancy, a would be mother undergoes several physiological changes and hormone production varies with individual physiology. Perhaps birth order is not only effector here and cortisol is not the only result. Study should have also found other physical properties that can effect this type of result.

Author also compare this study subject with human perhaps for gaining more plausibility. Though monkeys are chronologically near to human but their physiology and stimulator type differs a lot.

Finally, if these alternative explanations proved right then the explanation about fact presented in the argument will get any ground hardly. The team should widen their research methodology and take other possible effectors in account for sustainability of their findings.