The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

While the letter from Central Plaza owner stating the reason for in decreasing the number of shopper and accusing the popularity of skateboard as the main culprit, it does not seem appropriate for the flowing.

First of all, he has stated that the number of their shoppers has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboard has increased dramatically. This statement is not reasonable at all because he has not mentioned any kind of study or survey that is plausible in showing the real picture. Weather this decreasing is significant or he is just starting this to attract more shoppers to their Plaza is unclear. How increased popularity is decreasing the number of shopper is also not mentioned. Perhaps the shopper is going to another mall to purchase where they can avail their requirement within their capabilities. Shopper may avoid the plaza due to traffic rush on the way to the Plaza. If these are true, then the statement of the Plaza owner is seriously faulty and the decrease in not the result of mere popularity of skateboarding.

Beside faulting the increased popularity of skateboarding the owner is also claiming that skateboarding is also behind the incensement on the amount of liiter and vandalism thought of the plaza. Is there any specific proof for this claim? Are the police and investigation department also agreed with the owner? If it is not so, then the owner cannot recommend the prohibition of skateboarding. It may happen that the city’s defence system is being weakened and the law enforcement is not working and there may possibility of the absence of strict law against litter dropping. It may also be the scenario that the owner is pointing the crime and illicit act just to persuade the authority just for his own interest. He may even have exaggerated about those happening.

Even the city officials heed the plaza owner and prohibit the skateboarding in the city, the assumption and optimism of the sanguine owner that the city prohibition of skateboarding may rectum their business to previous level doesn’t have any standpoint. Prohibition may create negative assumption among the skateboarder and general people also about the plaza owner and they may decrease their shopping from that plaza again. People may be no longer interested about the plaza and they are not actually liking the behaviour and service of that plaza. If this happen then the prohibition of skateboarding never bring them any benefit.

However, the plaza owner statement might be true but he has to find more plausible reason for decreasing the number of shopper and also has to make the city official convinced about the skateboarding role with realistic investigation and survey otherwise he will not be able to achieve his goal.