"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that switching from current format to a comparatively more popular one may increase the number of listener of the particular radio show, the manager’s argument does not rest on cogent evidences. His observation and expectations are rife with holes and faulty assumption thus not strong enough to lead to increase their listener number.

Citing about people retirement and after that moving to the area of entertainment, the manager states it as the reason of decline in listener number. However, he does not take mention about other listener group and their number. Manager may imagine that there will be no change in the number of young listener and that’s why he is concern about the aged group only. Their switching from current rock music to news and talk format might attract older listener while it may bring significant decrease in the younger one. If this happen then their efforts will go in vein.

Additionally, the manager is implying that decline in local sales of recorded music is parallel to the limited test of listener in music. For that reason, they couldn’t tailor their current music form. Without doing survey on the taste of the listener we cannot be sure that they are no longer interested in music. They might not purchase the recorded music for some other reasons. It may be financial one or the influence of open platform such as YouTube or music cloud, where they can enjoy their favorite one without buying one. If these evidences become true, then the manager’s assumption and owner step’s will significantly be counterproductive.

Building upon expectation that as news and talk are popular area in radio, if they launched similar program, that will be of equal popularity, they are on the verge of sparing their current format. We don’t know how the listener will accept their newly launched program. Weather their content will be of better quality or the it will attract the new listener is still unclear. Listener might not prefer or trust in the quality of another newly premiered similar type of program. If it becomes the reality, then the radio station will be at stake. They might lose their former listener who used to listen the rock music and at the same time it might not make the retired resident their listener.

Obviously diversity and changes attracts people, however managers’ mere switching from one format to another will not bring any benefit. He should do survey and research on the number and taste of the people before launching any new program.