A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising

From the recent study carried out in the advertising agency on the executives, the results suggests for a business to thrive, it should hire only people who need less than 6hrs of sleep per night. However, this assumption cannot be generalized, thus three questions must be answered before this recommendation can be properly evaluated.

First of all, what is the possibility that the current study done, comprises of an adequate number of company executives? the author avers that the study was done on 300 male and female staff, is that number enough to draw an overall conclusion? Maybe, the research carried out, was done on only a few executives, rather than the majority of top executives in the various cooperations.Perhaps, these few which partook in the case study are just a little fraction of the executives and they are most likely the few who happen to be normally producticve at work despite their sleeping habits. Furthermore, the author asserts that the study was carried out in different advertising companies. Perhaps, sleeping such number of hours at night may not affect the output of the executives, and maybe in other companies, such as the oil companies, that can be seen as inadequate rest time.If the above mentioned scenario is true, then the original argument does not hold water.

Secondly,are the tasks peformed in these firms carried out only by only the bosses? Maybe, these bosses only make up a small number of people in these firms.There is a high chance that most of the hard work which makes these companies excel are done by the subordinates who work tirelessly at the bottom and the result is seen at the top. Perchance, the author gives credit to only the executives who will be unable to achieve such without the input from their junior colleagues, who obviously are not accounted for in the study. If the statement above has merit, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, what if these firms with higher profit margins have these high profits as a result of other underlying factors? These underlying factors could be good customer relationship and a conducive work environment which continually brings clients back to the same firm

Maybe when the clients compare these advertising cooperations with others which they have done business with, they realise how the company has inculcated such friendly attitude in their workers, which creates a conducive atmosphere to conduct business, hence the reason for the continuous businesswhich leads to more gain. Moreover, one cannot limit sleeping to only night time, as there may be times when some executives may have taken a few minutes nap while at work and that may have improved their productivity. If either of these scenarios is true, then the argument is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands, is significantly flawed due to it's reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and provide more evidence in the form of a more systematic research, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the recommendation.