Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action. Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Employees who are a part of the company will definitely know the company in and out, but will not be as efficient as an outside consulting firm/individual. Hiring consultants might seem like just another extraneous spend for the company, but in the long run, the experience will add significant value to the company.

There is no question that an employee will know the company better than an outsider, but as a part of the company, a certain bias is to be expected when it comes to taking harsh decisions which will ultimately benefit the company. Dispassion is very important when it comes to taking unrelenting decisions like letting go of people when there’s a need for cutback in costs, or not undermining situations which require immediate action on part of the company. As an example: If a certain manager at a company has to choose sides in a work related conflict, where 2 of his subordinates are suggesting different ways of going about a decision regarding a company, he might end up being partial, and choose someone he knows has been right in the past, even if the other person is providing the more efficient solution. He might not have intended to do it purposely, but the preconceived notion that the one who has been at the company longer, might make better decisions is wrong.

Trained and experienced consultants will bring in a distinct and fresh perspective that the existing employees may not be able to provide. Those people who are a part of the system might be used to a certain way of doing things, and a certain level of complacency might have kicked in. Change is not always welcome, and this is precisely why the company needs some outside help to add that extra amount of organization and coherence.

Furthermore, these consulting firms/ individuals specialise in the field. Having worked with a lot of companies these consultants will have a better sense of judgement in spotting common gaps in the company’s functioning that they might have resolved in the prior companies they worked for. So they clearly have the advantage of experience in this case. They will be much more efficient in understanding and assessing the company’s requirements and the underlying issues that might not be noticeable to someone working in the company. They will do a better job at considering

Although time and costs involved might be an added concern if the company is not doing that well financially, doing things systematically will be of utmost importance. In spite of the disadvantages, the extra help will be very useful, and the experience these firms bring in with them will be very beneficial. Therefore, weighing in all the advantages and disadvantages, hiring a specialised firm for consulting will be a profitable move for the company leading to a more efficient and organized work environment.