“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

The argument provided makes some unwarranted assumptions in order to reach the conclusion that AutoTech's automobile manufacturing plant is set up in Hillview, it will solve all the unemployment issues faced by the city. The argument fails to provide any reliable justification for its tall claim and fails to provide other relevant details required.

First, the argument assumes that the Hillview landfill will be perfect for the automobile manufacturing plant. There are no details provided as to why it has been abandoned and left undeveloped for decades. It could have been used for anything, building a It might be that the land is unsuitable for building anything, it might be harful due to the runoff from factories or any other type of toxic waste materials which might have made it unusable. In this case, why would the company be willing to risk their project by building a plant on a land that might be harmful to humans, and might thwart their attempts to contruct and run the plant, thus leading to a waste of resources and manpower.

Second, the Mayor deems the plant to be a solution to the rampant unemployment in the town. The argument posits that the people left jobless when the Computech computer software programming company abandoned it's facility, would get a job at the plant. The same type of skills cannot be expected from a person working at a software company, and the one working in an automobile manufacturing plant. You can't expect a writer to do the job of an architecture without going through all the training and certification that is required. So, how is it concluded that the plant will recruit all of the unemployed people, even the ones that have no relevant experience in the field or the required skills.

Finally, the argument fails to specify if the unemployed people might be willing to work at the plant or not. It assumes that the plan might be the only source of jobs in Hillview, it doesn’t explicity say that there are lack of jobs in the city. Also, the pay-scale at the plant might not be that high, leading to people looking for jobs elsewhere, where higher pay is being offered. It doesn't talk about the economic situation of the city, how is it faring financially. People might be unemployed of their own accord, not willing to work. Thus the argument has some yawning gaps to fill before making an assessment.

All things considered, because of the lack of credible evidence in it's favour, we cannot render the argument fully reasonable. The assumptions that the manufacturing plan will solve the unemployment issues of the city, and Autotech will be interested in buillding a plant are baseless. The reasoning provided for the claim is ambiguous, leading to a fallacious argument with numerous logical flaws.