Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Colleges should adopt honor codes to prevent students from cheating as suggested by the successful result from Groventen College. Nonetheless, the evidence provided by the user is still not convincing and inadequate.

The article claims that the reported cases of cheating have dropped dramatically from twenty-one cases to fourteen in five years. It seems that the quantity has been reduced a lot, nonetheless the author did not provide us the data from the second to the fourth year. For example, the author just cherry-picked the first year and the fifth year, yet in the other three years, the cases still remain as high as more than thirty cases, which obviously shows the result of the honor code is just cherry-picked data. Also, the author did not mention the base number of the statistical data. If the number of students dropped in the last five years, then the reported case will be deducted proportionally. Whether a method works or not is based on the rate of success rather than the sheer quantity.

The exam in college is mostly tough and time-consuming. Students have only scarce time to write their own paperworks, let alone act like a policeman in the classroom and recon for who is cheating during the exam.

Sometimes, out of the friendship or relationship, we will cease to report the misbehaviours from the others. The students who report someone cheating may be isolated or even bullied by their classmates. Compared to the benefit from honor code, the loss of friendship may be much worse. Hence, the decreased cheat cases may just be a selection or survivors bias.

Lastly, this mechanism is only tested at Groventon College. Nevertheless, we do not know what type Groventon College is. For instance, if Groventon College is a Church , God or private school, the school regulations may be more strict, and thus the honor code will work better. In contrast, for the normal college, the honor code may only become merely a formality, rather than the real restriction to the students’ honor and responsibility.

Since each college has a different composition of students and regulations, the honor code may not be compatible and applicable for all the colleges.