Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating, five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Author suggests that on implementation of academic honor code the number of cheating cases in an examination shall reduce considerably and it is a better method than many other methods that are possible. The stated argument is highly flawed and and rife with assumptions and holes. The author claims that there are evidence to prove the code right, it is however not possible to conclude on the same as we do not have complete information on the stated claims.

Firstly, the author explains that Groveton College adopted the honor code by discontinuing the old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitor students. He claims that on such adoption the number of cheating cases came down to twenty-one from thirty. However, this statement is rife with assumptions as it cannot be concluded that the students did not cheat without clear evidence. Honor code is student centric approach of determining the cheating practices in the examination and thus there are high chances that students are going to take advantage of this situation and may not report cheating even if they have witnessed it or have done it themselves. Without an evidence that the students are loyal and truthful we are not in a position to agree with this statement.

Furthermore, the author continues that after five years of implementation the total cases came down to 14. It is clearly visible from here that the honor code is favouring the students and that they are taking the advantage of such flawed practice. Without evidence we can aver that as the time develops students are becoming more aware of this code and finding ways to flout it. It shall not be possible to conclude that the students are genuinely practicing the code as there is no one to invigilate or spy on.

Later, the author also talks about the survey that was conducted among the students on the opinion on the honor code. While it is possible that the students have given their opinions in the survey truthfully, we cannot rely on this survey unless we have an evidence on the truthfulness of the students. Honor code being a student centric is more advantageous to the students and so an explanation can be made on the contrary. The students may not be thinking rational and may opt to stay on honor code as it is more favorable to them. Honor code helps students to ease cheating process and so the students will like to chose the same.

Finally, it is wise to conclude that the given recommendation of the author is absurd and without concrete evidence we are not in a position to take a side. While it may be possible that few students are actually practicing veracity and are giving loyal opinions, it is possible that many of the students are taking advantage of the clause. Honor code is highly suseptable to fraud and so it must be throughly evaluated before concluding on the topic.