Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The author suggests all colleges and universitities to adopt the honor code system, similar to that of Groventon College. He supports his recommendation by citing the fact that the number of reported cases of cheating declined after the implementation of the honor code system. He also mentions a survey where students say they are less likely to cheat with an honor code than without. Although the author's recommendation seems apt, inorder to critically evaluate it's validity, we need to answer three key questions.

First of all, the author is implying that if the number of reported cases of students cheating declines, that means that the number of students actually cheating in the exams also declines. However, this might not be true. Students might still be cheating in exams, but might conspire among themselves to not to report cheating if they found anyone doing so. Therefore, inorder to evaluate the recommendation, we need to ask whether the students do report all the cases of cheating. If found yes, then the author's recommendation holds ground but otherwise, a lot of cheating might go unnoticed.

Moreover, what worked in Groveton may not work the same way in other schools. Maybe the students in Groveton are more honest and have high moral standards, and therefore report all cases of cheating when they find them. However this might not hold true in other schools. Before implementing the same system in another school, we need to ask whether the students there are as honest as the students in Groveton and adhere to the honor code. If they are not, the then author's recommendation to replace teachers' monitoring with honor code system would do more harm than good.

Lastly, we need to question the validity of the survey. It is not clear how many students participated and whether they are representative of the Groveton's student population. It could also be the case that students when asked about the effectiveness of honor code lie that it is a better method because it is in their best interest. Students might hate when a teacher montiors them and a honor code system would allow them to cheat easily and not get caught.

In conclusion, to evaluate the recommendation of the author, we need to ask more questions. The survey cited by the author needs to be evaluated critically to assert its validity. We also need to ask whether the students in different schools would behave similary as that of Groveton when it comes to honor code. Finally, we need to ask whether less reported cases imply cheating has indeed declined. Answers to these questions would throw more light to assess the validity of the recommendation.