In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

While a study on the frequency of checking of a particular type of book in a public library may sometimes represent the reading habits of citizens surrounding that library, the argument concluding this scenario as real picture evidencing the study as only one proof is full of rife and holes. In addition to this specific study, the argument should take account into other evidences also for two reasons.

To begin, in the argument the earlier study has shown that the citizens preferred literary classics as reading material. However, the study has not showed the method and not mentioned anything about the study procedure. Weather the responded faced any alternative option or their preference is dependent solely on the availability of the books in the library in unclear. It may happen that their preference of book genre is dependent on the source. The might not find others category of books in nearer library which would make them to change their mind and consequently in reading habits. If this becomes true, then the study result is faulty and might be provincial. Moreover, the study might not include enough respondent to conduct the procedure in statically sound way.

In addition to the result of the earlier study on the citizens reading habits, the argument also presents a second study conducted by the same researchers whose results is incongruous to the first one. Second study is refuting the result of first study based on the assumption that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries is the real and significant indicator of reading habits, therefore it is concluding that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits. This assumption does not always hold the water. In this tech-dependent worlds few people are interested in going to the library in persons. Books of several genres are available on internet, Amazon and people can easily get their preferred one through home delivery service sitting at home. Citizens might check the mystery novel only because it is found best in the library and library may provide this particular type of book at free of charge. If people get the chance to read books at free cost, then why don’t they use the opportunity. On the basis of these scenario before concluding the argument must expand the scope of the study and revise the study result weather it is presenting the real big picture or not. Otherwise the argument will fall apart.