An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet

The approach taken by international organization to combat vitamin A deficiency in impoverished nations in Tagus is undoubted and noble one. But before recommending it and assuming it's foresight success several questions would need to evaluated because the the recommendation is standing on several untested conditions and faulty assumptions.

Firstly, in this argument ,it has been stated that though the new variety seeds cost more, the farmer will cultivate it forgetting their own profit relying on the promise that the Govt. will provide them subsides. There is no guaranty that it will always happen. It may happen that the farmer already knows about the economic status of the Tagus govt. They are confirm that the govt. has several other issues to tackle as it's already managing an impoverished nation. In priority list vitamin A deficiency may come later. If it is true then the farmer will not eager to cultivate new type millet and the deficiency will be it's own place.

Additionally, the argument is based on the assumption that the govt. subsides is adequate to compensate farmer's loss in cultivating vitamin A containing millet.Unfortunately there is no information about the yield of this new variety. If the crops yield becomes significantly low compared to the existing crops, then will the govt. subsides be adequate to compensate the farmer,s loss. If the farmers experience this for one year, then in the next year they will not step in this process. So before recommending this variety , crop yield should be evaluated.

Furthermore, it's assumed that the price will be same for new variety of millet in the market as other previously sold millet item. As a result people will readily adopt the new variety. This assumption is not fault proof at all because it's already implied in the argument that the cost of the seed is more than other variety. Consequently the new variety of millet will cost more than other staple food and people may not be able to afford that. If this becomes true then the recommendation of farming new variety of millet will not be fruit full.

Finally, if the recommendation intends to succeed then and have to have the predicted result, then it should evaluate the crop yield, farmer's profit and interest and confirmation the govt. subsides otherwise there will be very scant chance to be successful.