Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Though the contention between two group one believing in yielding to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise while other believing in remaining committed consistently to particular principles to become effective leader is not easily resolvable task, my opinion will go with second group. I strongly believe that effectiveness of any job including the job of a political leader also inherits in being principled for two reasons.

To begin, commitment to principle and definite objective is inevitable for any human being regardless their position, profession and activities. If that particular person is a political leader, then it’s necessity demands more. For instance, a political leader manages the entire country and the country composed of citizen with varying values and charactestics. All does not hold the opinion that are noble and contributing for the wellbeing of a country. While political leader’s opinion matters and most of the decisions for the welfare of the country depend on that. Moreover, the whole world is a global country and connected to each other. If a leader yields to public opinion and compromise with his principle, he will be no longer worthy of his position and his activities will not do any good. On the contrary it will defame the country and worsen the inter countries relation.

Secondly effectiveness is very relative term and one political leader may not be always in the throne. Sometimes he may not yield to public opinion and compromise and become ineffective in the eyes of public but after the ending his term the same leader might be celebrated for his previous activities. USA’s former president Barak Obama gave the legality of Gay marriage and it was against the most public opinion but the president was committed to his principle as leader for all both minority and majority. That time he was ridiculed and public protested against him. But now the former president is world widely celebrated.

While sometimes a leader need to yield the public and that yielding may shake his position of commitment and principle because that was for time requirement but at the end principle in unviolated and it brings the supreme welfare for all. So no political leader should abandon their principle for any reason.