Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

I believe that having sound moral judgment and maintaining the respect of one's peers are connected to each other and one cannot exist without the other. Therefore I will have to disagree with the statement that implies that respect of the peers of a leader is more important than having sound moral judgment.

A leader holds a lot of power in his hand and his or her ability to use this soundly and morally is what makes them effective. A leader who doesn't possess sound moral judgment will definitely not be able to take correct as well brave decisions to keep all of his peers safe and sound without landing them in travel. It is of paramount importance that a leader knows how to distinguish right from wrong no matter the circumstance. Great leaders like Mahatma Gandhi could have easily retaliated against the British with violence. But Mahatma Gandhi's moral judgment prevailed and he choose to lead his peers on the path of nonviolence in retaliation. This proved pivotal in not only helping India attain its freedom but also helping Mahatma Gandhi earn the respect of his fellow comrades, peers, and the general masses.

Sound moral judgment is an integral part of the skill set of a leader and although there have been instances of respect becoming more important than sound moral judgment it has often led to that leader's downfall eventually. Taking the case of Adolf Hitler, originally he managed to earn the respect of his peers but didn't have any moral judgment. However, over time his peers felt isolated and discouraged by his far-fetched ideas leading them aimlessly into a war that they were bound to lose. It culminated in fact to the extent that his own deputy betrayed him to end the war.

Leaders are often people who we look up to in times of crisis and how he or she manages to lead us from there is what makes or breaks them. A leader who has sound judgment can more often than not lead his team out of that crisis thereby earning the respect of his peers. Taking the example of Martin Luther King, who ably lead America out of slavery with his incredible decision-making skills coupled with sound judgment. His moral compass was impeccable and that's what helped him earn save thousands of lives.

Thus it proves that a leader who doesn't have sound judgment can prove to be catastrophic to his very people even if he or she manages to earn respect for a little while. On the other hand, a leader who possesses sound judgment might not get very popular initially but over time will impress his peers and earn their respect.