Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Leadership is a skill that is developed with experience. However, it's not possible for one person to have all the experience in solving all the problems that he or she might face. This is where the role of his predecessors comes into play. Therefore I thoroughly disagree with the author's statement that understanding the past is of little use to current leaders.

Looking at the various technological advancements that have come in this century itself right from self-driving cars to superfast computers. However, as the past has taught us all good innovations come in negatives. Some people lurking behind in the shadows ready to pounce and use these inventions for destructive purposes. One invention that could have destroyed the world was the atomic bomb. Originally uranium was found and used for supplying energy. But during world war 2 , the USA developed the atomic bomb causing massive destruction and huge loss of life and property. Seeing this once the war ended, the leaders of the world met and decided never to use that bomb again. To this date, this agreement has never been broken simply because the cost is too high. Formation of the united nation was another step taken in this accord.

Human society has been in constant evolution since its inception. The societal problems faced by the cavemen differ vastly from what we face today. Nevertheless, in a constantly evolving model, leaders in each era gleaned the necessary lessons from history and applied them to solve current problems. For example, racism has been a social malady for a very long time. In mitigating this problem, leaders have come up with solutions that often reshaped society and changed our outlook. Any society and its leaders in current positions who are considering exploiting racism and imposing racial segregation laws, need not look far than the revolutions led by Nelson Mandela. Knowing that these segregation laws are eventually nullified, leaders in current positions will certainly refrain from imposing them.

Further one must not always look at the successes of the past. Going back to the Delhi Sultanate era, one famous ruler Tuglaq decided to make various changes in his kingdom. He stopped making paper currency and started using iron coins. However, they were easily copied by common people and soon there were too many counterfeits. Similarly, he decided to change his capital from Delhi to Indore but that failed miserably as well. Most leaders that came after him, learned from his mistakes and have not repeated them. Delhi has remained the capital of India ever since that day. A leader must try to imbibe the successes of his predecessors and learns from their mistakes to not make them again.

A successful leader does not only have a knowledge of contemporary issues but also possesses an acumen for extracting valuable lessons from past incidents. Therefore understanding and learning from the past are the most important skills that a leader must have in order to guide the people under him through the several crises' that they might face.