Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions.

The past is the bedrock of the present. The past has a great influence on the decisions we make today. Therefore, I think the argument about knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions is untenable. In order to learn from valuable lessons from history experience, we must treat history facts without bias, and analyze them from various perspectives, including time, social environment, and economics. Only in this way can we reach the accurate and insightful decisions.

It is commonly acknowledged that an understanding of the past is essential to an understanding of the present. The analysis and interpretation of history provide valuable context for evaluating the contemporary institutions and politics. Besides, history provides a unique insight into human nature and human civilizations. That’s why we cannot run away but learn from history: it offers an extensive evidential base for the contemplation and how societies functions and people need to have some sense of how societies function to run their own life. History forms our lives, but only present, but future. Any time we want to know what happened-whether a shift in a political party in the US Congress or a war in the middle east we have to look for factors that took shape earlier. Sometimes the recent event may help to explain the reasons, but we need to take a further back to identify the cause of change. Only through studying and analyzing the history can we grasp how they change and we understanding the similarities between events, thus providing us with solutions to current problems.

Nevertheless, we should not totally follow the precedent practice because the social environment, people’s habits, and locations vary. If we mechanically follow past’s practice and apply it to current problems, the outcome could be devastating. Besides, some old practices may have their limited, their success depended on beyond expectations and asymmetric information, when the general public knew about them, the practice would no longer be effective. For instance, in the stock market, a potential buyer of Company XYZ shares and the seller of those shares. If the seller knows the CFO's brother-in-law and has heard that the company is facing undisclosed financial problems, then the seller has asymmetric information. The seller would want to sell the shares before the news was available to the public. Once the company's problems are made public, it is likely that the shares will plummet causing anyone that owns stock in XYZ to lose money. Essentially, the seller is taking advantage of the buyer's lack of knowledge.

To sum up, the past does provide us with useful information and it helps us to make the right decisions. But we cannot fully apply past practices to our modern societies, we must treat them with flexibility.