In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Surely the Mason City government is to devote money for the riverside recreational activities for the people of the city. Although, the author doesn’t not give proper justification for this step to be taken. There is no evidence or an example in the article that makes a strong point for the Mason city government to take such measures.

As per article, the survey, mentioned, does not justify the number of people it was taken from. It can be entire city or just couple of people from a particular area. The author also does not mention the age group of the people involved in taking this survey. There must have been another questions on cleanliness of the river. There may have been another idea apart from creating recreational facilities, like, making a dam, using water to generate electricity or diverting the water of the river through a canal to some other part outside the city. One also does not know if the survey was 10 pages long or 2 pages long and the number of questions on water sports.

According to the author, the residents were bothered by pollution of the river and its smell. Although, author fails to mention were these all the residents throughout the city, possibly who also stay pretty away from the river or the ones staying on banks of the river. The author also mentioned that the river was smelly and polluted but fails to mention the exact cause of the river to be polluted or smelly. Was the river polluted due to sewage of the city or there have been natural effects of the river to be polluted. Traces of sulphur due to pollution and smell can be caused by geographical factors also.

The author does not mention monetary scenario after the river is being cleaned. If Mason City government puts most of the finance coming in the form of taxed from the residents on the cleaning of the river and if the paid recreational activities do not work and the river is polluted again due to natural causes, then it will be a waste of money and resources. Also, author did not mention the amount of revenue that will be generated by the recreational activities.

Although, a clean river and well developed riverside will surely give a happy environment for every age group of people of Mason City, the author fails to mention proper evidences fr the government to invest in the cleaning of river and development of the riverside.