"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

While it might be true that wearing helmet might cause bicycle riders to drive recklessly; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent sense. It is easy to understand that number of bicycle accidents might increased during past ten years, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions therefore, not strong enough to lead to encourage bicycle riders to do not care about wearing helmets that much.

The author mentions that today the number of bicyclists who wear helmet is nearly 80 percent compare to ten years ago which was 35 percent. However, the author does not provide any information about the total number of bicyclist today and ten years ago which can make a different perspective. If the total number of bicyclist was 100 ten years ago whereas that number is 200 today and the number of bicyclists who reported wearing helmets has increases from 35 percent to 80 percent, so the percentage of bicyclist who wear helmet has not increased. In addition, the author indicated that there is 200 percent increase in bicycle-related accidents, but the author doesn't talk about the total number of bicycle riders.

Additionally, the author implies that the number of bicycle accidents has increase 200 percent; however, the author does not explain about details of these accidents. Imagine a bicycle-related accident that happened because of a car driver's high speed which does not related to wearing helmets. Moreover, a narrow bicycle lane is important to be mentioned too. For example, bicyclist who do not have enough space to ride might get accidents regardless of wearing helmets.

The author indicates that the government should concentrate more to educate people to ride safe other than education people about wearing helmet to reduce the number of bicycle accidents' injuries, but the author does not prove his/her assumption. There might be no correlation between riders' recklessness and wearing helmets.

The author can make his/her suggestion persuasive when he or she gathers information about total number of current bicycle riders compare to ten years ago and the reasons for bicycle-related accidents. After answering these questions, the author cam make such a conclusion.