“Three years ago when we surveyed our subscribers, they complained about the quality of the reporting and writing in the paper. Since that time, we have made a concerted effort to hire older, more experienced journalists. According to our most recent survey, these changes have made a vast improvement. Not only has our subscriber base grown by 13%, but they also rated us higher on both reporting and writing. Therefore, it is evident that to continue to increase our readership, we should hire the most experienced journalists we can find, and gradually fire our younger, less experienced reporters.”

The author concludes that we should hire more older, experienced journalist and fire the younger ones. The author provides improvement in the subscriber base and increased ratings as evidence for the same. However the author makes several major assumptions, which need to be reviewed, before a decision is made. In other words we need more evidence to establish causality. Apart from questions regarding the reprentativeness of the sample, the important questions that need to be answered is regarding the rise in the base, how high is 13%? Whether it is statistically significant? And also there is a need to assess the role of the older, more experienced journalist in the organisation. And whether firing young will be useful.

Firstly, the author states an increase of 13% customer base and increase in ratings as evidence. We need to assess the relative importance of 13% rise and whether said figure is statistically sinificant, before basing our analysis on this figure. If it is infact significant, Since the memo states the 13% rise in the subscriber base as one of the reasons, we need to assess whether the said increase is on account of better reporting and writing? This can be ascertained by conducting a survey of the old customers asking whether they find a change in the writing and another survey of new customers asking them why they chose to subscribe. The first question will help us know for certain whether the old customers do infact feel that quality has improved or the higher ratings indicate the opinions of new users who have shifted form other newspapers. In case if the original customers do not reveal a quality improvement, it could be that new costumers shifted because our newspaper was better than others despite not improving. The second survey would help us answer that precisely.

Furthermore, If the customers do infact report a increase in quality, the next question that arises is whether the said increase could be attributed to the old journalist. It could be that younger journalist improved their quality owing to the introduction of senior journalist. In which case we shouldnt fire young journalist as old journalist make young journalists performance better. alternatively it could also be that the better ratings are a result of the older journalists writing better articles compared to the younger journalist. This question could be answered by conducting a random study by providing people with articles form both younger and older journalists and ascertain their respective ratings.

Finally, If 13% is in fact a significant no. and the said increase in base and ratings is on account of better journalism attributed to older journalists, the newspaper should hire more older journalist, however if younger and older journalist recieve similar reviews on thier article, there is a need to revaluate the hiring policy and encouraging some sort of mentorship programmes, as hiring young journalist is cheaper and has long run benefits for company.

Even though the author presents a good idea, we don’t have enough evidence to conclude that firing younger journalists is the way to go forward. So, author needs more evidence to back his claim.