Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decide to increase the number of call-in it advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly.

The stated argument appears to be relatively sound at the first glance. However, as more light is thrown on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, it is easy to see that the argument suffers from several grave fallacies in its assumption as well as commits a false analogy. The writer of the argument recommends that KICK in Medway include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a large audience share in its listening area in that radio station WCQP in Rockville increased its audience by doing the same thing; however, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased dramatically because of augmentation in the number of call-in advice programs. However, there is no evidence to prove that increasing in the number of call-in advice programs lead to augment the number of audiences. For instance, maybe the number of audiences have increased because of the fact that there are no call-in programs anymore in other radio stations and all the other stations cancelled these kinds of programs; therefore, these cancellations caused people who like call-in programs moved to listen to WCQP.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that according to the WCQP’s recent success and a nation survey illustrate that many radio listeners are quite enthusiasm in such programs. However, there is no evidence to definitely prove that this is the case. Actually, the mentioned survey in this argument didn’t show that the people who are participated in this survey not only are interested in listening to radio but also in such programs. As you know, in a research survey, the findings can be generalized to the target population if the sample used is representative of the concerned population in terms of age, sex, social class, culture, etc. Additionally, had this survey participated people who even not listen to the radio, it would fallow that the findings of this survey cannot be applied to the members of the population without reservations.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer not only does assume that things remain the same over the years, but he/she also compares two different radio station that either have two or three factors in share or there is nothing in common at all. First of all, two years ago have nothing to do with now; hence, it would not increase the number of audiences if the station manager of KICK included call-in advice programs. Furthermore, there is two different radio stations which mean that maybe there is tangentially analogy between them; therefore, the change that leads the WCQP to be successful cannot make the KICK successful as well.

In the final analysis, the writer’s recommendation cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is dubious. The recommendation can only be acceptable if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.