Two years ago radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call in advice programs that it broadcast since that time its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly Given WCQP s recent s

The argument presented suggests that including more call-in advice programs will obtain larger audience. The argument appears to be relatively sound at first glance. However, on analysis, it is easy to see that the argument suffers from several grave fallacies. The argument is dubious; it rests on a questionable analogy and bases his argument on unwarranted assumption. A stand can be taken only after careful examination of the questions to be answered by the argument.

To begin with, the argument presented relies on a success that happened two years ago in a different radio stations at different cities; this premise in itself lacks clarity. The argument does not answer any question as to why WCQP decided to introduce call-in advice programs. Maybe they had no other programs in their station or the programs they had might not be doing well. The argument simply assumes that the significant increment is only because of the call-in advice program. The significant rise might have been due to the population growth at that time or the listeners growing interest in other programs at that time. Also, the argument fails to quantify the significant increment. It does not state increment from how many, does the significant increase refer to increase from zero? If so, then WCQP must be a new station. Hence, these questions regarding WCQP must be answered.

Moreover, the argument presents the nationwide survey as a substantial evidence for WCQP’s success. The argument lacks clarity and does not provide enough information about the survey. We do not know anything about the methods used for the survey, neither sample size nor the survey population has been disclosed. Simply stating nationwide survey makes the survey more ambiguous. Whether the survey can represent all the radio listeners and their unbiased view on it is questionable from the information provided in the argument. In addition, only the opinions of the listeners of WCQP can be considered even among the nationwide survey. Most importatly for a survey to be reliable the total number of survey population and total number of listeners of call-in advice program of WCQP, Rockville must be (have been?) stated clearly.

Last but not least, the author commits faulty analogy by assuming that these two cities Rockville and Medway are similar. There are umpteen of reasons that this analogy can go wrong. To state few; the listeners from both the cities might have completely different taste. What if the listeners from Medway are not into call-in advice and wants more entertaining contents. What about the popularity of these two radio stations. It is stated nowhere in the argument if WCQP is popular than KICK or not. If that is the case then, KICK is less likely to gain larger audience just by including call-in advice programs. What worked for WCQP might not work for the KICK for various. Thus, the author must make sure that the listeners of these radio stations are similar in every way to claim that call-in advice programs will be a roaring success when they are implemented by KICK radio station.

Thus, the author needs vigorous research and clarification to improve the argument significantly. If the author truly hopes for the success through call-in advice programs he must logically fix the flaws and explain the assumptions. Hence, without working on the evidences and facts, it does not persuade that increasing call-in advice programs will gain larger audiences.