The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author, in making argument, recommends for the allocation of funds to the city facilities that are mostly enjoyed by the adults as, the last years’ birthrate of the city was declined drastically compared to the last five years’ birthrate. The argument seems more involved than it appears at the first glance since author is assuming that the number of students enrolled in the public schools might decline without presuming that the students doesn’t have to be from the same place to attend the public school. Also, the author jumps to the conclusion that the school budget can be decreased together with the fund for athletics and recreational activities. However, the author could have presented the gross students enrollment in the public school together with their birthplace and the data of the birthrate of the consecutive years of the city.

Firstly, the author poorly limns the correlation between the decrease of the birthrate and the decrease in the number of students in the school while, implicitly suggesting that the public school is attended by the local students. Perhaps, it would be in the interest of the people to know the birthrate of the last five years so they can actually believe that there is a decrease in the birthrate. Perhaps, it might be coincident that the last years’ many young couples weren’t planning to give birth to the children. It is also possible that this coming year, there can be increase in the number of child rate. So, author should provide the scientific data from the reliable source of decrement of birthday to strengthen the argument.

Secondly, the author assumes the future based on the last year’s child rate which might actually turn out differently in the next year. There is an assumption that cutting the school budget and investing it to the adults-facilities can be the best approach to the fund. Perhaps, it is possible that the adults can be less in number rather than the children. Also, there is possibility that the students considering this recommendation might want the valid data and survey related to the dislocation of the funds. Therefore, if these scenarios hold true, then, the argument seems flawed.

In conclusion, author should have organized the survey with the application of statistics to validate the argument. The argument is flawed as it lacks the potential evidence to justify the substantiation of the argument. In order, to make valid argument, the author should provide additional information such as the number of student enrollment in the public school, agreement by the people on the deduction of the schools’ fund to utilize in the adults’ favor.