The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is mentioned by the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries in a recommendation that by using surveillance techniques using electronic equipment, the organization can help improve the level of productivity generated by employees. However, while the conclusion made by the vice president may hold water, it is based upon three baseless assumptions, which if not proven, would significantly weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the author of the recommendation does not provide any proof of how they concluded that employees were spending time using the internet for shopping or entertainment purposes. It is possible that only a handful of them were using the internet for their personal reasons during their work hours, and that the majority of the employees are in fact diligently working on their assigned tasks. It is also possible that the handful of the employees using the internet for their personal activities were only doing it on one or two occasions, and that they are otherwise quite morally sound individuals who would not spend the organization’s resources for their own personal gain. If these reasons prove to be true then the author’s claim that the usage of the internet for personal reasons is correlated to a decrease in employee productivity will be weakened.

Secondly, the author does not provide any proof on how the company’s overall profit margins are being affected by the performance of the employees. There may be several other factors in play here. Perhaps the industry involved in selling or marketing the particular product or service is going through an unprecedented crisis period due to a rise in a rival company’s stature in the market. It is also likely that the product or service produced by Climpson Industries is a victim of the current market scenario where it is getting obsolete, such as electronic pagers or fax machines at one point of time. If either of those reasons turn out to be true, then the author’s contention that overall profits of the company will be improved by employing surveillance techniques is significantly hampered.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is incredibly flawed due to its foundation on several unfounded assumptions. Further evidence is required which would support the author’s claims made in the recommendation, which would be beneficial in fully evaluating the validity of the argument.