Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations provided they operate within the law is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both the views presented.

In recent times, the mental and physical well being of humans as individuals and as collective beings have garnered much priority among many sectors and industries around the world. It is a widely accepted fact that mentally and physically sound human beings are an asset to a society, while those who struggle with either of those must receive the help necessary to remedy it. The prompt recommends that it is a belief held by some citizens that corporations should prioritize encouraging the well-being of communities in which they function. I mostly agree with this statement for the following reason, which will be discussed below. However, I do concede that as a corporation, their goal should also be in ensuring that the company makes enough profit that would help them sustain in the long run.

To begin with, it is a moral responsibility of all citizens to be conscious about the mental and physical health of the society as a whole. In that regard, when a corporation is attempting to make themselves known in their potential consumer market, they would also wish to adhere to this ideology. For example, a manufacturer of edible soybean oil will constantly promote their products with the message that this kind of oil is good for the cardiovascular health of consumers. They will try to do that because by promoting the idea that oily food is detrimental to health would be hazardous to their business model and at the same time paint them in a negative light for promoting poor eating habits. Hence, to prevent themselves from getting into either of these scenarios, brands like Saffola Oil continue to endorse their products, sometimes even with the help of celebrities and health experts as brand ambassadors, with the idea that their product is beneficial for people’s health.

However, I concede that corporations, especially if they intend to survive in a sector with a lot of competition, must also prioritize making profits. If sufficient profits are not ensured compared to their expenditures, then it is likely that the company may not survive. Moreover, in an extreme case, if the company ends up becoming bankrupt, this will undoubtedly affect the number of people who are employed by the company. They will lose their jobs and any other benefits or insurance provided by the company. This will again impact the well being of the very people involved with operations of the organization.

Many may argue that focusing on monetary benefits should be the sole responsibility of corporations. However, as illustrated above, while that may be valid up to a certain extent, it is also of utmost importance that corporations engage in publicizing the physical and mental well being of the communities in which they run their operations.