The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the recommendation, the vice president claims that in order to enhance the productivity of employees, the company should install electronic monitoring software, so that workers won’t waste time on something unrelated to work. However, a careful examination of this argument would reveal how groundless the conclusion is, for it is based on oversimplified and unwarranted assumptions.

To begin with, the argument relies on the assumption that if employees do not watch videos or facebook, they will focus on their work. Indeed, this software will truly make workers spend less time on recreational activities on their computer. The real picture of this argument, however, is that nowadays every person has their own smartphone or tablet. Employees can still spend time on scrolling their smartphone at the restroom, or even at their seat. Unless the company can install real monitors to supervise the movement of every workers. This would not be possible that staff would not waste their time.

In addition, the vise president assume that increasing the working hours of their employees will improve the company’s profit. Nevertheless, there are lots of jobs require creativity. If they can’t spend time on search data or watch youtube to find some ideas, they probably can’t have the best idea which can make lots of money for the company. For example, one of the best tech company such as Google, there’re lots of recreational amenity such as slide or video game in the office. The president thought that spending some time on playing can increase the efficiency of their workers. In such a case, the author’s assertion to increase profits is hasty and porous.

Third, the rule that the vise president set do not clearly define the meaning of recreational activity on internet. The software may presume the certain websites as playing, but those website may contain important tutorial for workers to learn. For example, if the engineers are searching and watching some programming rules on youtube or finding other’s tutorials on blog, they’ll probably get fine because the software presume all youtubes or blogs as recreational activities. This policy may cause lots of conflict and lowering the probability for workers to learning new things, and finally decrease the profits of company.

In sum, the argument is not completely sound. The assumptions in support of the conclusion is not solid enough to prove the conclusion—that the policy will improve the profits of the corporation—because It failed to address the several points I have raised. If the vice presidents enroll this policy, the company will face that emploees may playing game at smartphone, that lower the creative thinking of them, that cause conflict between workers and boss.