We need to increase the funding for the movie in order to ensure a quality product. As you know we are working with a first-time director whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for shampoo company. Since the advertisement business is notoriously wasteful it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent in any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.

The producers makes an argument that more financial investment in the move is required to ensure the success of the movie, due to relative staff incompetence and available funds. While some of his arguments could be valid, most of them are purely circumstantial and even fallacious.

Firstly, the producer believes that based on the director's lack of his experience, he will be dilatory as he has only worked in advertisment angency. He bases this argument only on the notoriety of the entire advertisment market and not on the director as an individual. It lacks leg to rule the director as flat out incompetent just he director has never taking the chair in a movie. This does not necessarily mean that he would be bad at it the first time. Despite the fact that the saying goes practice makes perfect, it is mainly a posit as there have been cases of precocious people excelling at a new craft the first time they tried it and also cases of supposed prodigies who fail at a craft they have done their whole lives. If the producer where to actually watch a few scenes been shot, then he would be able to make a more cogent argument as to the competency of the director.

The producer also assumes that the money saved by hiring cheap inexperienced and supposedly incompetent crew would translate into greater expenditures. This is not neccesarily true as more money does not always mean more success. Hiring expensive actors and assuming they would be more patient with the incompetency of the crew is a rather bold assumption and one could even argue the opposite as more expensive actors would tend to be more famous and be less tractable. If the areas in which these money is being invested could be better analyzed, then a stronger argument could made on why more money is needed.

In addition to the director, the producer also believes that the rest of the crew would be bad and aslo require many takes. As result of the multiple takes required, shooting scenes would longer than normal and the crew would require to be paid overtime. Just he wrote the director of due to association with the notorious ad companies, he now also writes the crew off based on their association with the director. If he took time appraised the crew individually and actually watched them perform their jobs, then he would make a more accurate estimation of their future perfomance. He might even be surprised to see that they work faster than expected.