When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park’s drop in popularity; the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the Business District is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument above stated the need for Stanley Park to provide more benches in order to increase its rate of use by visitors. The writer makes this conclusion as a result of the increased ample seating space at Carlton park as well as the record from the camera recording from Stanley Park which showed fewer cars per day in the parking lot. However, for this conclusion to hold, some unstated assumptions need to be addressed or warranted.

The first assumption is that Carlton Park did not add more activities that led to the increase in the number of visitors. It is possible that Carlton Park had conducted surveys on development strategies, found out what interests visitors, and decided to add it to their park for more engagement. It is also possible that they had added more activities that will suit business owners and corporate individuals owing to the fact that Carlton park is located in the heart of the business district. If this is the case, Stanley Park should increase strategic activities and not increase the number of benches. Also, If this assumption is not justified, then the conclusion does not hold water.

Furthermore, the second unstated assumption is the comparison between the number of cars and the number of people. The writer of the argument obviously compared cars to people which made him/her draw the conclusion. It is possible that the number of people in a car at Stanley Park is between 1 to 5 people and the type of car can actually accommodate more individuals. The camera at the lot only captured the number of cars and not individuals. Maybe the visitors at Stanley Park used an alternative to private cars to get to the park due to personal reasons or a negative effect from driving a private car to Stanley Park. Well, if this assumption is not warranted, the conclusion is weakened.

In addition, the writer assumes that the use of benches which led to an increased number of visitors at Carlton park was derived from valid research. It is possible that the increased number of benches is not a proven fact. If this assumption is wrong, then Stanley Park does not need to increase the number of benches.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed, in order for it to be valid, the unstated assumptions above need to be evaluated which will justify the conclusion. However, there is a need for the writer to provide more evidence in order to ascertain the efficacy of increasing the number of benches at Stanley Park leading to an increase in the number of visitors.