Essay topics:

The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The recommendation from the letter suggests that the national aeronautics should invest in unmanned space flight, this recommendation was as a result of the high cost and danger associated with manned spaced flight and also the demonstration that shows that the unmanned space flight can gather vital information. Well, the evidence in the passage needs to be further proven for the conclusion to stand true. Also, some unstated assumptions need to be verified to evaluate the validity of the recommedation.

The first assumption is that investment in unmanned space flight is cost-effective when compared to manned space flight. It is possible that building the unmanned space flight might cost more which doesn't focus attention on solving the problem of "costly". For example, if it costs $5,000 to build a manned space flight and $500 to manage the whole process to and fro with the effort of 2 people; then costs $6,000 to build an unmanned space flight and $600 to manage the whole process. If the unmanned space flight requires the effort of 100 people to manage from the earth, it can be deduced that the cost of operation is high. Unless the information is provided on the cost-effectiveness, the implication of this recommendation will be an exponential increase in the cost of development and operation of the unmanned space flight.

In addition, another assumption on which the conclusion is based is that unmanned spaceflight has assured the national aeronautics a permanent efficiency with the collection of accurate information. Until a piece of evidence is shown, the opinion of investing in unmanned space might not be the right move. There is a potential that the unmanned space only operates actively for a period of 3 months or even a year. This might not even be a wise decision if compared to the costs involved. Maybe, the aeronautics engineers need to carry out further research to identify the shelf-life of the unmanned space flight.

Finally, the passage assumes that humans that had been earlier sent using the manned space flight did not carry out activities that made it easier for the unmanned space flight to gather the information. Well, there is a possibility that the culminated efforts of humans contributed to the success of unmanned space flight. If this is so, that means the unmanned space flight, after utilizing results from the human efforts, might fail to collect accurate information until humans are sent again to work carry out more activities that the unmanned space flight will leverage on. For the conclusion to stand, a piece of evidence is needed to provide information about humans not being attached to the success of the unmanned space flight operations, if not, the implication of this decision will be a double investment by the company and wasted time and effort.

In general, the passage is flawed, more valid evidence is needed for the recommendation to stand. Until then, it might not be advisable for the national aeronautics to invest their resources in unmanned space flight.