Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition

Education is an indispensable right of a child. In this modern era of technology, education has become a non-negotiable cog and every child dreams to receive education from the best institutes in the world. It should be every child's right to receive an equal and fair opportunity to acquire education from the best institutions in the world. So I totally agree with the author's view that governments should offer free university education to any student who cannot afford the tuition.

In this era of ever-increasing economies and advancements in technologies, education has become a vital cog for gaining recognition. The first question one is asked when going for a job interview in any field is about one's education. Unlike previous times, when people did not bother much on one's academics, in today's times, it has become a vital part of an individual's growth.

Past years have seen a rise in the university tuition costs. Everyone in the world cannot afford to go to one's dream institute as the exorbitant costs restrict them from even thinking about gaining admission in that institute. Although one may have a pretty good academic record, but because of the extravagant fees, one does not even bother about considering these institutes. For instance, in developing countries like India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan etc. there are still people who live below the poverty line. If the government ensures free tuition for the children of such parents, it would provide tremendous amount of support and encouragement to such families. Lots of children of poor parents do not study and start working as child laborers to help their parents monetarily, alleviating the burden of the costs of their university education might put an end to this. It will also motivate children to study and do well to be able to get admitted into better universities.

Implementing this kind of policy will benefit the government and economy of the country as well. Universities will attract children who are smart and competent. Once these children pass out, they might get jobs in technology companies, they might become entrepreneurs, they might even work for non-profit organizations, become lawyers, doctors; options are endless once you have a good education. They will be able to support their families monetarily and pay taxes properly. Thus, education is the best tool for overall growth and evolution of a nation.

In conclusion, the deserving student must always get an equal opportunity to study at the best institutes and their family's monetary reasons should not hamper ones growth and prevent one from achieving what one has dreamt of. Hence, there needs to be a policy to ensure that students from different socio-economic backgrounds get equal opportunities as those who come from richer families.