Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument initially assumes that woven baskets of a certain distinctive pattern were only found in the village of Palea. In the latter, the author argues to conclude that the baskets weren't uniquely Palean but the argument is not well supported.

However, the archaeologists found a similar basket in Lithos which questioned the assumption made at the beginning of the argument. The author then states that Lithos could be reached only by boat since the Brim river is deep and broad and no Palean boats were found. He uses this as evidence for denying the uniqueness of the baskets to Palea.

The evidence is completely baseless since the basket could have been reached Lithos through various reasons. There is no evidence mentioned about how long the basket was in Lithos. Therefore, the boat not being found cannot be strong proof. Also, the basket would have been left by a Palean at any point of time when he visited Lithos. It could also be possible that any Palean lives in Lithos or a person from Lithos would have bought it from Palea.

Therefore, there could be many possible reasons why the Palean basket was found in Lithos. The evidence used by the author to deny the originality of the Palean baskets is not enough to prove the point.