Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggests that woven baskets with a different pattern was found only in palean and therefore was believed that the baskets were made only by the people of palean. but later it was found by archaeologists that the woven baskets were also found in lithos, it an ancient village across the Brim river from palean. The author thinks as the river is very deep and broad people from paleans could have crossed it by boat. Following the so called palean baskets were not uniquely palean.

Firstly, In th ancient period boats were made up of wood sticks aligned together in a straight line and tied with rope. they might have untied the rope so that the wood can be used for other purpose and tied back when they want to sail again. there might be possibility that people from lithos might have come to palean and learnt the art of woven baskets from the people.

Secondly, the difference of woven baskets can be identified by the distinctive patterns. The people of lithos must have made different types of baskets when compared to the people of palean. Did the archaeologists observe the pattern. As there is no observation of distinctive pattern one cannot be sure if they are unique or not. And also the archaeologists have no survey of other near by places. people of lithos must have learnt the making of pattern baskets from other nearby villages or they must have got it from another village and sold here. The author does not mention of making of baskets anywhere in the city. it might be possible to buy the baskets in whole sale and sell in their respective villages.

Thirdly, Even if the similar type of baskets was found in another village but the origin of the basket does not change. if the baskets where firstly found in palean then it will be uniquely identified because it was made by the palean people and will have the distinct touch of palean.

Lastly, the argument stated is flawed and based on the assumptions discussed. To firmly know whether the origin of the basket is in Palean or no, the author will need to find out why was the occurrence of the basket in lithos and also the author should also identify the patterns on woven baskets are similar or not. Without the all these assumptions one cannot say palean baskets were not uniquely palean