Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore, were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus, it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that newly founded palean baskets in Lithos were not uniquely made by palean.In support of the conclusion, the author states that two important factors that lead to this conclusion.First, the woven baskets have been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of palea and second is Brim River across the palea deep and broad, so palean only crossed it by boat, but no palean boat have been found during the research.Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors based on which could be evaluated.The conclusion of the argument relies on the assumption for that there is no clear evidence stated by the author. Hence, the argument is weak/unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that woven basket only be found in Palea.This statement is a stretch and can not be substantiated anyway. For example, distinctive woven basket could be made by only palean people, but they might be involved in trading or selling of the woven baskets and others similar products during that time. So, woven basket might be in Lithos. To support the argument, the author could have mentioned trading of palean people in that particular era.

Second, the argument claims that there were no palean boats found in Lithos for supporting the basket founded in Lithos were made by palean. This is again very weak and unsupported claim. The stated ancient time might not have significant means of transportation.But there might be other natural calamities like flooding or abrupt changes in the geographies which may be caused the woven basket to travel to Lithos. Because Brim river now may be deep and broad, but that time river might be the land, so people had traveled by riding animals or walking.If the argument provided evidence that the Geographies and weather details may help to support and strengthen the claim.

Finally, Archaeologists had found such distinctive only one basket in Lithos.Finding only one basket does not support author's claim.This is again very weak argument. There might be a number of other baskets found around the city if explored. Had there been substantial data showing that similar baskets founded other places not were having the distinctive features of palean basket's, then we could strengthen the argument.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed because of the above-mentioned reasons.However, it can be strengthened by geography and weather details of that particular region for longer period and if the other baskets found near to that region, does not have the unique features of the woven basket made by palean people.