Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With the continuous development of education, many educational institutions have more and more comprehensive means to train a student. Many students come up with various fields in which they want to pursue their career.From the perspective of the institutions,they might think the field of study some students want to select are not likely to succeed. In other words,maybe the student with potential talent is more successful in other fields. So, should educational institutions discourage students from this kind of pursuit? In my opinion, every students has the right to go after the yearning field of study, whatever the result would be perfect or not. Therefore,educational institutions should not interfere too much in it.

Admittedly, the claim may be meaningful for the future career development of students. Through the way to dissuade, students can avoid spending many time and efforts in their weakness. Instead,it can help them look for what they are really good at gradually. Furthermore, because educational institutions should cultivate useful personnel to society, such dissuasion really helps students to develop talents in their field of expertise.

However,there are notable flaws in such inferences. First of all, although pedagogy, psychology and other disciplines are evolving, educational institutions still cannot judge the success of students accurately.For example,Albert Einstein could not speak until the age of three. His teacher once said that he could not succeed, but in fact he grew up to be a highly accomplished physicist. That is to say, it is difficult to predict whether everyone's development will succeed. If educational institutions dissuade them only according to their own judgment, students may also miss one of the opportunities to succeed.

Most importantly,discouraging students may not make students obey but resist. It’s possible for them to show the negative side in areas that appear to be seemingly successful. For example, If a student especially likes astronomy physics major but the teacher strongly stopped him, as the ground that learning this can not have a good future development, so the student may be weary of study or even abandon himself to vice in order to fight against the teacher. In the stage of fundamental education, students have the right to fully study well, while in the higher education stage, students have the right to choose their major freely. Both rights are the part of the right of education, because of which educational institutions have no right to deprive them.

To summarize, I think dissuading students from seeking the major they really like is not adequate approach for educational institutions to advocate,because students have their freedom to select their interest and education. Educational institutions can indeed train different talents specifically, but they have no obligation or right to discourage students from engaging in their chosen majors.