Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument. The following appeared in a memorandum from the new president of the Patriot car manufacturing company. "In the past, the body styles of Patriot cars have been old-fashioned, and our cars have not sold as well as have our competitors' cars. But now, since many regions in this country report rapid increases in the numbers of newly licensed drivers, we should be able to increase our share of the market by selling cars to this growing population. Thus, we should discontinue our oldest models and concentrate instead on manufacturing sporty cars. We can also improve the success of our marketing campaigns by switching our advertising to the Youth Advertising agency, which has successfully promoted the country's leading soft drink."

The argument above is well-presented and appears to be relatively sound at first glance:

because according to the President of the Patriot car manufacturing company, the company has not been having a good sale owing to the old-fashioned body styles of Patriot Cars.

Even though this was the past, the current trends of rapidly increasing newly licensed drivers the future in this market of car manufacturing looks flourishing. Till now the competitors certainly had an edge over Patriot Cars as they kept up well with changing demands and wants of the market. Patriot Cars has failed to do so and thus the less sales compared to the competitors.

Since the have realized this its surely a good start to start anew and know that change is required and work towards it. The president predicts that by doing so they will be able to increase their share of the market by selling cars to this growing population, looking at the market trend. This will definitely prove to be right move. But the statement "we should discontinue our oldest models and concentrate instead on manufacturing sporty cars" may not be be the right way to do so. Patriot cars needs to analyze which type and design sell the most and create the own unique selling point after incorporating and looking into all the factors after a detailed research and not just go with the common trend of sport cars. With discontinuing the old cars entirely, the manufacturing machines and storage area may also require to be revamped thus adding expenses to the company.

Advertising through marketing campaigns by switching the advertising to the Youth Advertising agency, which has successfully promoted the country's leading soft drink seems to be a great tactic. Having a well established advertising and marketing company, which has proved itself in the past, market the Patriot cars will help them strengthen their market share.

Thus I feel overall the memorandum from the new president of the Patriot car manufacturing company is well stated and well established from the point of view of the company's future.