The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As rightly said by the then prime minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru, that "The youth is the future of a nation". It has been evident over the years that a person's childhood shapes or is responsible for the kind of person they will become as an adult in the future. Prior to entering a society its necessary to prepare the young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields. If so, what can be the best way to do this if not by instilling in them a sense of cooperation.

Cooperation, I feel, allows a person to unbiased. It allows them to listen to other people take their opinions in consideration too before taking an important decision. It makes a person humble. These are the qualities required for a good leader. A good leader who is not capable of taking good decisions but taking good decisions after incorporating its peoples opinions. Being cooperative does not mean a people pleaser personality, it means a person who deal with situations wisely. To run a country or a company better than such a person. A cooperative leader of a nation or a company can make good relations with the other nations and companies which is an essential aspect.

Competitiveness is not necessarily a bad thing. Being competitive is definately good, it means you are ambitious and you strive for success. But it only gains a negetive aspect when this competitiveness makes a person go on a wrong path. If it leads to taking wrong steps like corruption just to atttain a position would be detrimental for the nation and for an industry. A healthy amount of competitivness enables the person to achieve the best they can for themselves and for their people.

There are many industrialists which can be named to have both these qualities and the success they have achieved is known to all. An example would be the founder of Infosys, Narayan Murthy and Sudha Murthy. It is evident how down to earth and such good listeners they are but also have the competitive edge required to sustain in the comepetitive IT industry.

Thus, according to me both qualities cooperation and competitiveness are important to make a good leader. And instilling these qualities in its youth from a younger age prepares them well for future.