Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following appeared a note from a sedan owner to a friend.

“Of the two top brands of cars introduced in past year, Kia cars are clearly more superior to the competing Alfa cars. Kia cars boast aesthetically pleasing design and a fuel economy of 50 kms per litre. In the past quarter alone, 8000 Kia cars were sold. Alfa cars, on the other hand have received only a few positive reviews regarding their overall performance. I have personally test driven both brands, and I strongly recommend that you buy a Kia car for superior performance at a cost-effective price.”

The following appeared a note from a sedan owner to a friend. Author drawn conclusion that, of the two top brands of cars introduced in past year, Kia cars are clearly more superior to competing Alfa cars, strongly recommend that buy a kia car for superior performance at a cost-effective price. There are several stated and unstated assumption made by author which need evidence.

Firstly, Author state that Kia cars boast aesthetically pleasing design and a fuel economy of 50 kms per litre. Author assumes that, aesthetically pleasing design and fuel economy which are sole factor which attract the customer to buy car. It might possibility that, having pleasant aesthetic look and fuel economy whether it is affordable to people. Author need an price of car and maintenance required for car, it might possibility that it takes several maintenance which cost more as compared to its price. In this people may not prefer to buy Kia cars, so the arguments may become weaken.

Secondly, author state that in past quarter alone, 8000 kia cars were sold. Author assume that, total 8000 cars which are sold are of new brands. Author need to categories this 8000 sold car, exactly how much of them sold are of newly introduced car. It might possibility out of 8000 cars, only 1000 newly introduced cars were sold. Author state that, on the other hand Alfa cars received only a few positive reviews regarding their overall performance. Author assume that, Alfa cars have certain drawback, so that it got fewer positive reviews regarding their overall performance. It might possibility of that, Alfa cars survey customers requirement, their usability so that they improve in their final product.

Thirdly, author mention that he personally test driven both brands and strongly recommend that buy a kia car for superior performance at a cost-effective price. Author assume that Kia car gives superior performance at a cost-effective price. It might be possibility author take little drive on which basis he concluded that, Kia motor gives superior performance. Author need survey of people who uses for long run purpose, what are issue face by them. It might possibility that, for long run cars fails in mechanical functioning.

In conclusion, author need to check all the point before drawing any conclusion. There are several stated and unstated assumption made by author which need evidence then only argument become strengthen.