1. Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that the best indicator of a society character is the hero or heroine of that society. He also supports his claim with the reason that heroes are idealistic of each society. I fundamentally disagree with this proposition. In what follows, I will list the most effective reasons which cast doubt on the accuracy of this claim and its reason.

The first reason which makes the claim skeptic is the paling of terms such as the hero or heroine at the modern life, which occurs for the sake of modernization and technological development. Indeed, nowadays according to the complexity of each task, there is a requirement of experts or proficient on that specific task, until the presented task stands at its head level. Consequently, the terms of hero and heroine coverts to the more specialist terms such as an expert which solves the problems with his or her intelligence or brilliance. However, these experts are not as well-known as the heroes by the public; they are popular with a group of people who deal with the same task. Besides, since there are various fields of expertise, there are hundreds of experts in each society. In this scenario, searching an idealistic person for each society is not a connivance way.

The second reason is the general and holistic definition of the heroes which is identical in all regions. In another word, if the heroes or heroines are considered by their traditional definition, are individuals with supernatural abilities who fight against poverty, misfortune, and injustice. According to this definition, there is no difference between the western and eastern heroes and no one could understand the specific feature of a society by the consideration of heroes' feature. For instance, the western version of the hero is Robin Hood, who stands against the injustice to help the poor people. On the other hand, Rostam is the eastern version of the Robin Hood who did the same tasks. According to this claim, the western and eastern people should have the same character. However, the extroverted behavior of western people is totally opposite the introverted feature of eastern people.

Finally, the author uses the reason that a hero’s manners at the specific society are the highest idealistic of that society. First of all, the term of the character of society should be clarified until we could understand the failure of this reason. From my perspective, the character of a society is the set of norms, beliefs, and behaviors which accepted and presented by the majority of people at that society. This definition has the contradiction with the generality of hero and heroine in which society. In the statistical perspective, if the feature of a set or group is considered for the valuation, the main of all members are considered for evaluation rather than the maximum or minimum ones. At this reason, the writer considered as the hero’s features which rarely covers the one-hundredth of society as the indicator of whole society’s feature.

To wrap it all, all discussed reasons, the meaning lost of hero in the modernized society, identically of hero’s feature, and wrong case selection for the evaluation of all society cast doubt on the validity of this claim and its reason.