Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the

character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role

models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Every society has some underlying principles which are inherently followed by every individual in the society, while performing their daily chores. But there are some individuals, who work tirelessly around some of these principles, and motivate others to follow their actions. These men and women then become idols for those who belong to the society. So, the character of a society is well displayed in the idols that the society maintains and cherishes.

During the independence movement in India, if we look at the situation particularly in the state of Maharashtra, there were primarily two factions of the independence movement which followed two extremely contrasting ideologies. The first one, led by Gopal Ganesh Agarkar, believed that the war for independence can only be won using peaceful non-violent ways, making sure that neither the opressors, nor the oppressed must be hurt during the process. The other one, led by Lokmanya Bal Ganagadhar Tilak, believed that the revolutionaries must resort to violent ways to express their discontent over the British rule, and consequently overthrow them. This resulted in two kinds of societies across India (with respect to revolutionary ideologies), ones which followed Tilak, and the other following Agarkar. The ones who followed Tilak, would often try to destabilize the British Governance in their region by conducting planned bombings at government facilites, and openly rallying against the British. The ones who followed Agarkar observed more peaceful ways like Satyagraha (i.e. fasting until death) in order to gain support of the local Indians and other revoutionaries to challenge the British. Thus we could see how the idols were reflected in the actions of the two contrasting societies.

But sometimes, those in the society who follow the idols, form only a very small fraction of it, and the society is still in the phase of getting closer to those idols. For example, if some scientist from a society wins a Nobel prize, the society heaps praise on that person, and considers him/her as their role model. But this does not mean that most of the individuals in the society are scientists or even share a scientific attitude in life. The role model status might just be because the scientist won an international award, and hence he is valued in the society. Hence it is not always wise to judge the character of the society just by looking at the role models. What matters the most is the collective impact that the society has on the world, and what kind of initiatives the society takes, as a whole. These are the real indicators of the societal character.

Thus, although the study of role model might be very helpful in understanding the type of achievements that are valued in the society, it sometimes does not provide a holistic view as to what actually is the character of the individuals in the society. In these cases, we must look at the broader aspect of the initiates taken and reforms brought about in the bigger community, which better explain the character of those individuals.