The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Can the character of a society only be examined by its major models? The statement above suggests it is the best way to represent, but I can not fully agree with this viewpoint. In the field of economy and politics, role models can not on behalf of the feature of the society, but in the realm of culture it can show the willingness of all.

To begin with, this assumption may be not suitable in some situations in the politic field. The role models in politics could be successful leaders who have made great contributions to the progress of the whole society. But as a matter of fact, an excellent leader can sometimes put forward visionary policy, while many citizens may not understand the necessity and the benefits. For instance, Lincoln implemented the abolition of slavery. Although it is thought to be a noble policy in the current era, many people at that time objected to this policy and refused to obey it due to the religious beliefs and individual interests. From this example, it is evident that sometimes the willingness and thoughts could not represent the whole character of the society and major ideas.

Furthermore, in the field of economy, role models can not represent the financial situations and characters of a society. A role model in the business field can be someone who creates a novel business pattern or has run his own business successfully, who is also playing a significant role in stimulating the economy. However, the success of a businessman should not be determined by just these aspects. Various factors should be taken into consideration, such as the social effects and the environmental effects. For example, Jake Ma is a successful business leader who created the online shopping mall TaoBao and Tmall. The stores are very famous in China for the time-saving convenience they bring. But when we think of the environmental effects it brings, the pattern might not be that well. We are supporting to environmental-friendly shopping, but this kind of shopping pattern which produces too much waste of recourses are not corresponding to our willingness. The only role models can just not convey the main ideas.

However, it is true that models can convey the cultural and spiritual pursuit of the whole society. The core spirit of the society is mainly conveyed by the cultural and moral models effectively. They are chosen to be the role model more or less because there are virtues and qualities that attract people. For instance, Mother Teresa is a world-wide model for her kindness to help the old and the sick. She gives a lot of donations to the people in need. This behavior is widely praised and popular in our society. It is and will forever be the high moral pursuit of human.

To summarize, by examining the role models, we can draw the characters of a society in some aspects, such as moral. But it is not always the best way, and for some fields it fails to represent the whole feature.