2. Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits

In the argument, the author states that the cost of processing go down because as an organization learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. To support his idea the author gives an example of how the cost of a 3 by 5 inch print varied over a decade from 50 cents to 20 cents. Hence concludes that the concept applies to food processing industry as well. The author fails to persuade readers by using vague words and irrelevant comparison.

First the author states that the cost of processing goes down as an organization becomes more efficient. The cost of processing depends on the technology used in production, resources available and the methodology followed. Over the time the cost of production attains a stability due to the experience of handling things but not due to experience alone.

Second the author gives an example where he compares the cost of 3 by 5 inch print in 1970 with the cost of print in 1984.Even though the cost of processing is reduced over a decade the author doesn’t give any information about the technological advancements used to achieve the processing cost in 1984.

Third the author simply states that “the same principle applies to processing of foods” where the argument provides no information on the methods, technology or resources used to explain the principle.

Even though the cost of processing reduces as organization more efficient, it doesn’t mean that the cost of processing involved in production of product reduces. The cost of processing goes down as the initial costs involved during the initial stages doesn’t recur over the time .