During a recent trial period in which government inspections at selected meat-processing plants were more frequent, the number of bacteria in samples of processed chicken decreased by 50 percent on average from the previous year’s level. If the government were to institute more frequent inspections, the incidence of stomach and intestinal infections throughout the country could thus be cut in half. In the meantime, consumers of Excel Meats should be safe from infection because Excel’s main processing plant has shown more improvement in eliminating bacterial contamination than any other plant cited in the government report

In the Argument, the Author addresses the initiative taken by the government for conducting regular inspections on meat processing plants to check the percentage of bacteria present in chicken. As the consumption chicken with excess percentage of bacteria has reported in the cases of stomach and intestinal infections. However, provision of extra information on excel meats plant in the Argument will strengthen the conclusion given by the author.

Firstly the Argument doesn’t provide any statistical information on the reported cases of stomach and intestinal infections caused by consumption of bacteria contaminated chicken. Provision of number of cases effected due consumption of infected chicken would explain the severity of the situation and number of frequent visits to be conducted on processing plants for reducing the bacterial percentage in chicken.

Secondly the author address that frequent visits from government has reduced the percentage of bacteria in the chicken samples by 50%. Additional information about the process flowed for treating the current samples and the new course of action taken or implemented by the government for treating the bacterial contamination in samples will strengthen the Argument.

Third the Argument never addresses any previous or current status of processing meat of manufactures to compare the improvement exhibited by Excel meats and conclude that it is safe for consumption. Details regarding the process of manufacturing, age of chicken and percentage of bacterial with respect to other manufactures would help in concluding that “Excel Meats” chicken is good for consumption

To strengthen the Argument the author must include details of process followed for manufacturing meat, new rules / amendments done in order to improve the quality of chicken, processing of fresh meat to reduce progress of bacterial contamination will strengthen the Argument.