all students of a particular nation must study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The author states that all students of a particular nation must study the same national curriculum until they enter college. It is clear that the author, on a more holistic level, is aiming for equal standards of education to all, but he/she fails to consider the various disadvantages this has to offer.

Different nations around the globe share different opinions about education, hence bringing about youth with varying degrees of expertise into their respective fields. If we are to stick to one nation and impose a standard curriculum to all the students, it is more likely to have more negative effects than positive.

First of all, the author does not consider the individual interests of the students. Some students might want a more rigorous academically oriented syllabus which would prove to be helpful for their career in the future. But this would be useless to a 15 year old who aims to become a singer. He/she would have to study 12 years of science and maths, only to never use it in his/her life at all. Similarly, a teenager who wishes to become a football player, will not not find either an academic curriculum or an arts curriculm useful.

Second, it is important to consider the financial background of students before imposing a curriculum on them. The price to pay for education in the nationally imposed curriculm could be extremely high for minimum wage earner's son. He/She would only be able to cover education at a lower price.

Moreover, the quality of teachers available in the nation hasnt been considered. All teachers must be equally able to cope up with a nation curriculum. If they fail to do so, it could prove to be disastrous for the students in that class.

Take the example of India, a county with a population of billions. India follows multiple curriculums with different ranges of difficulty levels and costs. A standard government school can follow the goverment curriculum which is cheaper and easier while another student can follow the CBSE or ICSE curriculums both of which are more academically rigorous. It is known that India produces some of the smartest minds, and this can be credited to the education system prevailing there.

On the contrary, the author's point does have a few positives. It will bring about equality for all students. Everyone can be judged on the same level when appearing for an exam. No one student, due to more financilly stable background, can in turn be educated better. A rich business man's son will be as educated as a poor farmer's daughter. They will both have access to equal standards of education, thus enabling them an equal oppportunity to succeed in the competitive job market.

In summary, even though the motive of the author is to bring about equal education standards to all, the desired result will not be achieved due the various problems that will occur. With a few options to choose from, students from different economic and social backgrounds can choose the curriculum that suits them best.