All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Mostly, companies tend to look for freelance consultants to help increase the company's productivity. Whether or not that is the right approach is a puzzling question, to say the least. May be the problems need out of the box thinking, maybe the company needs smarter employees, or maybe the company needs to listen to its own people and try to understand what would help them perform better. Either ways there can be many factors at stake. Let's take a look at some of them.

While the priority of any employee at a certain company should be the company's well being, usually that is not the case. Concern about personal life, career trajectory, office politics, etc. can often make the company's own employees look at problems more subjectively. While some disadvantages may come from it, taking an outside counsel is an objective way of looking at the problems the company may be facing. Consultants, not having a direct stake at the direction the company's employees' career, can suggest swift methods to strengthen efficiency from staying outside the loop.

In addition, the consultants usually hired to assess an organization and help improve them are experts at doing this. More often than not, they have significant experience in dealing with similar problems, if not similar companies. Problems that might seem gigantic for the CEO of that company might look rather small to these cosultants, provided they know which way any decision made might lead. In a way, it is better for a company to hire outside counsel, as it offers wisdom without learning it the harder way.

One adverse effect this might have on the company is the fact that this can affect the morale of the employees. They may, and surely will, feel that their opinion is undervalued. It is logical in a sense that they are one of the real stakeholders in this case. While the suggestions may be invaluable, undermining their own employees can sometimes be of more risk than gain.

As opposed to an outside counsel, an employee working at the company may have some good things to offer too. They are the ones facing the real problems, and sometimes they can be very personal and sensitive. As opposed to opening these subtle issues for scrutiny, talking about them personally may help solve them faster and more effectively, keeping certain things discreet. The alternates to really talking to the people facing the problems and solving them are very little.

Furthermore, despite the similarities in problems, every company is unique in its own ways. The level of enthusiasm, the cohort, the workforce's career expectations, workplace dynamics and many other arbitrary things are extremely unique for every single company. The people actively living in these situations may, therefore, provide more means to increase the effectivity of the company.

In summary, when efficiency is the concern, talking to their own employees may help improve efficiency better than taking outside counsel. While the expert opinion is priceless, existing employees are the heart and soul of the company and keeping their morale up can increase productivity more than just cutting some extra costs.