Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Technically, the most crucial word that requires further definition here is what's 'important'. The idea of whether a viral video of a dancing monkey is more important than the Israel-Palestine conflict surely defines the statement in a negative way. Yet, for the sake of this discussion, let us assume that humanity indeed prioritizes importance over naked amusement when filtering information on a mass scale.

The existence of internet has changed the lives of billions of people indeed. More information is accessible right now about any convergent or divergent topic than it was a few decades ago. It is safe to assume that with this many things to see and this many things to do, there must be more distractions than ever. Studies in the near past and present have shown that people are less likely to focus on a single topic today as opposed to the day when books were the only source of viable information. Other benefits surely outweigh the con here, but the fact that this happens is undeniable.

Out of all the positivity that humanity gains from the age of mass media, like transparency, fast information, etc., the advantage pointed out here is a slightly controversial one. Let us look at it from two perspectives. First, let us look at a case where one is looking for specific information for a project, let's say, on ecosystem balance in the world. Merely typing the words in any established search engine is the first way to go, almost half the population knows it. What it generates is a huge list of information from different sources. Anyone who has done this before has had to deal with the vast information and will scan for a suitable review article. Although it is true that the search results are tailored using other 'tricks' programmers have up their sleeves, technically, it is true that they can sort through the large quantity of information to find what they need.

Secondly, let us look at a scenario where someone is not looking for something specific, but is scanning through the online news portal for a daily check. The big issue here is that the majority of the information that might and probably will catch this person's eyes are the ones that they are emotionally attached to. Another possibility is focusing on what other people think are important, for example the latest viral videos that media posts for a higher TRP. I am not sure if this can be considered as filtering what's important, provided that global warming is drowning a portion of the earth's surface every day and a lion's share of the people are not even thinking about it.

In summary, maybe human beings are getting better at filtering what they want at the moment, but surely they are not building the inherent ability to find out what's important. If what's important is what they want, sure, I can accept the argument; this however cannot be the only definition since with the power of internet and mass media, comes the responsibility of saving the Earth.