Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society

While educators can have a very hard time figuring out what kind of education builds the most ideal of members in a society, I believe the concept is largely flawed. Every individual is unique; every society is unique. One curricular focus seen as an algebraic formula cannot solve the puzzles in each case.

Yet, to dissect the issue proposed here, let's begin with morality lessons in school. Teaching philosophies of morality in school essentially tells our future generation what we or our ancestors think are right and wrong. The foundation can be extremely engraving, provided it is taught right. While there may be some ethics not universal, most of the preaching are accurate and up-to-date. Definitely, stealing and bullying are frowned upon in all societies, regardless of geographical locations and history. Education, in any structured level, needs to accommodate such lessons, since there aren't many places where children could learn them from.

There are, of course, various problems associated with such a teaching method. What this method essentially assumes is that everything written in the "local book of morals" (if it exists!) is right while everything else is wrong. In certain societies, not allowing women to work outside is considered to be morally right, which is a blatant lie. The students taught morals in such schools will learn only that, and after a certain age, they would loose the autonomy to think by themselves that this may not be the case. Secondly, the fact that these theoretical knowledge can, in most cases, not work. This method has been used in schools since the beginning of formal education and the societies still lack empathetic citizens. This ineffective mechanism can largely be because the morals are taught as part of what you have to do as opposed to what you should be doing.

On the other hand, teaching students how to think can solve the aforementioned problem. The teaching system is not as rigid as the former one, and has more flexibility in terms of teaching methods and syllabus. Effectively growing the inherent sense of right and wrong in future educators, if possible, can create an entire generation of empaths and logic driven rebels. A child can essentially understand why it is wrong to steal and how it damages the victim. In addition, they may also be empathetic to the broke father who steals a bottle of milk to feed his hungry infant.

Although this seems like a concrete plan, there are still certain loopholes. Not every human being has the inherent capability to think like they are trained/told to. Every individual is unique and has aptitude in different areas. As opposed to conventional teaching, logical reasoning would fail to appeal to a major portion, who might end up misunderstanding all morals in a society. Furthermore, extremely logical brains, who would definitely be a bi-product of this education, will focus largely or their own understanding than the ones provided by renowned philosophers in the past. Shining debaters have shown this disorder in the past, and this may cause more chaos than solve problems.

In summary, both the approaches have their perks and drawbacks. However, a combination of the two can, and possibly will, solve the moral crisis in future scholars.