All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

It is critically important that companies operate efficiently as much as possible and thrive in all their projects. Personally, I believe that companies should listen to their employees. I feel this way for the following reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, employees are associated with the company for a very long time. Thus, employees know the pros and cons of the company. For Instance, an employee would have faced an issue with a project and since he knows every detail of the project, he will also know what should have been modified to do it better next time. So, if companies give a chance to an employee he can pitch a better idea for helping the company to work much more efficiently. This scenario was with respect to "one" employee but when a company gives a chance to all the employees then each and everyone can come up with a new idea. Based on this, I strongly feel that companies should give a chance to the employee for the betterment of the company.

Second of all, if companies value their employees by listening to them then they get emotionally connected to the company. If as an employer if I value my employees then they will be loyal to the company, so with this they can truly work hard and help the company to achieve greater profits. In contrast, if the company trusts some other consultants then the employees might not get adjusted to them. It is also possible that they are not willing to do things according to the consultants. Perhaps in the future, they start searching for another job. Based on this, I strongly feel the company should prioritize employees.

However, the other side of the picture also needs to be discussed. Consultants might suggest different ideas which the employees might not know. For instance, these consultants would have associated with many companies and they know how to help the company for raising efficiency. They know how to tweak these problems and provide a solution. It is always good to have a third-person point of view from the outside world. As a result, it is good to take the consultant's point of view.

On a conclusive note, I strongly feel that companies should listen to their employees. This is because they are connected to the company for a longer time and if the company values them then they will be loyal and work hard.