The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the memo, the business manager concludes that the time allocated to the weather and local news should be re-established because to allure more viewers and avoid losing advertising revenues. However, the conclusion drawn by the business manager might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First of all, the manager assumes, without evidence, that the advertising contracts were canceled because of assigning less time to weather and local news. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps the contracts were canceled because the television station was charging a fortune for advertising when compared to other television stations. It is possible that there might be some misunderstanding between the television station and the client and because of that, they are not willing to give the contract. It is also possible that the advertisements didn’t have a better reach in this television station because the viewers are more interested in seeing the news and shows from other television stations. If either of these scenarios is true, then the business manager's contention to reimpose the weather and local news on all their news program does not hold water.

Second of all, the manager claims that the complaints from the viewers were more related to the less time allocated to the weather and local news, but this might not necessarily be true. Perhaps the manager is basing his claim on few complaints from the viewers. Most of the viewers are likely unhappy with the content being shown in the weather and local news. It is possible that the news is not covering the entire region and it is only focusing on the main cities. It is also possible that the reading provided by the news is arbitrary. If either case is true, then the conclusion drawn from the argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, it is stated that the coverage of the weather and local news should be applied on all of their news programs, the manager assumes that with this they can avoid losing advertising revenues. It is possible that viewers only want to see the weather and local news only in the night because they are free and can spend some time watching TV. Even if the coverage of local and weathers news was increased significantly in all their news programs, there is no guarantee that the revenue might be counteracted. Most of the viewers might likely be disinterested and due to this reason, ratings and profits might decrease. If either case is true, then the manager's assertion is invalid, and his recommendation will do a little to increase the profit by increasing the weather and local news.

In conclusion, it is possible that by rising the local and weather news might attract viewers, and avoid losing further revenues. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the manager needs to provide additional evidence on three fronts: nature of the complaints from the viewers, reasons for the cancellation of the contracts, and whether expanding the coverage of local and weather news on all their news programs will counteract the losing revenue.