All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Communication is the key ingredient for the success of any individual, relation or an organization. For the efficient operation of a company, they must communicate well within the company. Hiring a third-party to resolve or highlight key areas where the company can accelerate their efficiency and growth seems unreasonable when the solution can be found within. I would like to discuss the unwarranted importance given to consultants and the need to look within, by discussing few major points.

Firstly, a company that doesn't cater to its own people is working to its own debacle. For the efficient operation and growth that every company desires, lies in well treatment of its people. Companies need to create an environment of growth by providing opportunities to its employees to be open about their working environments, constraints, and possible betterments, all leading to the growth of the company. For example, HR department should reach out to its employees and discuss their needs, provide them with opportunities such as online courses where they can upskill themselves while team managers and leads can discuss the innovative ways their team wants to work with, that can result in a better project management and delivery. Employees should feel that the office is a place for their growth which makes them more efficient towards their work, and in the overall growth of company.

Moreover, according to research our happiness levels have a direct effect on the kind of work we do, and how productive we are. Companies who neglect their own people, their own employees by staying indifferent to their well-being often end up having lower growth rates, since the employees develop a rather negative mindset towards their own work and office. There also remains risk of employees going into depression due to lack of support, work stress and poor work culture which directly affects the performance of the employees and their contributions. Companies should not only focus on being customer-oriented but also employee-oriented, catering to its clients but also its own people.

Finally, the third-party consultants do the same thing, that is, provide solutions involving activities that help the companies employees be more efficient, such as team-building exercises, mental support, all of which could've been done by the company itself for the well-being of it's employees. These consultants may also rely on special software that review employee and work data for some AI-driven decision making, which again, can be done by the company by using such resources directly.

In conclusion, companies spend an excessive amount of money for consultants to suggest ways to operate efficiently, while ignoring the needs of its own employees, which results in wastage of their own employee talents and skills. These suggested ways can be developed or performed within the organization by simply doing an introspection of self, whether as an individual working for an organization or the organization itself, listening and tending to its peoples' needs.