An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

To tackle a vitamin A deficiency, the international development organization proposes a new variety of millet which is high in vitamin A. This stands as a much more direct fix to the problem and one that is overlooked in many aspects of its viability. Thus, before adopting such a recommendation, two significant arguments need to be discussed.

Keeping in mind, that the new breed of vitamin A-rich millet is engineered, a major question arises what kind of side effects pose a threat to the general public? The new variety of millet has been engineered to have a higher concentration of vitamin A but as with any other engineered product, how is the safety and health of the consumer guaranteed in the short-term as well as the long-term perspective? Considering, that the citizens of Tagus accept adopting this new variety of millet, do the millet side effects vary according to different age groups? A normal family of three generations may adopt this new millet and find themselves prone to sickness, and ill health varying as their age groups.

As stated that the government of Tagus will be providing subsidies to farmers for purchasing these new seeds, which will cost more than the normal millet seeds, a question needs to be asked how much does it affect the pocket of the common consumer? Though farmers are given subsidies to buy the seeds, it is the final consumer at the retail who is purchasing this processed new variety of millet and who will be paying more from his or her own pocket. To tackle vitamin A deficiency, the government chose to raise the production of a new variety of millet which may not be cost-friendly to its own population. If provided argument holds true, then consumers may opt out of purchasing the costlier vitamin A-rich millet and go for the conventional goods they have been consuming.

In conclusion, the adoption of such a solution for the problem of vitamin A deficiency could come up with much overlooked smaller problems including exacerbating the health of the population, and the public exclusion of this new millet. The government must also look towards other potential solutions to tackle this problem, perhaps subsidizing and raising the production of already existing naturally present high in vitamin A goods for the public.